Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 1st, 2011

For years, I’ve been magnetically drawn to Tord Boontje’s designs.  And I think it’s because I have struggled with the use of pattern in my work. Somewhere in my subconscious I believe that pattern is clutter, old-world, and not modern, which of course, my conscious mind knows better.

What I love about Tord Boontje’s work is not just that it’s full of pattern, but that he starts with the simplest of objects, usually in nature and takes inspiration from them. He crafts his designs first by his own hand most times and then allows the time to study and test and then he uses technology when necessary to produce. But his preference is always to engage the human experience with the objects he creates.

When you look at an object you have just purchased, do you take the second to appreciate the enormous amount of creativity, product design, testing and production that has gone into it?

Take a break, grab a coffee and watch/listen to one of the most prominent designer’s of our time talk about how he creates.

TORD BOONTJE

Thank you Design Indaba

Wishing you a wonderful weekend!

Read Full Post »